Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
From WMOT News

WMOT newscasters and MTSU student radio reporters win 12 AP journalism awards


NASHVILLE, Tenn. (OSBORNE)  -- WMOT newscasters and Middle Tennessee State University student reporters have won a number of Associated Press statewide journalism awards.

The Tennessee AP Broadcasters and Media Editors held their annual awards ceremony and banquet for professional journalists Saturday evening at the Vanderbilt Marriott. The contest received more than 600 entries from newspapers, TV and radio stations statewide.

WMOT News brought home seven awards, including three First Place prizes for best Short Light News Feature, Short Newscast, and Special Series or Documentary. WMOT won four Second Place prizes for Long Light News Feature, Serious Short News Feature, Short Light News Feature, and Best Use of Sound in a News Story.

TAPBME held its annual Career Day and awards ceremony for student journalists Saturday morning. The contest received more than 300 entries from 15 Tennessee universities and colleges.

MTSU student reporters filing stories with WMOT won three AP First Place student news awards. Mamie Lomax won for Best Radio Feature, Galiah Almuyidi won for Best In Depth/Investigative Reporting, and Alexis Marshall won Best Reporter for College Radio.

Alexis Marshall won a Second Place prize for Best Use of Sound in a Radio Story, and Sarah Taylor won a Second Place prize for Best News Story.

You can browse some of WMOT’s award winning news stories using the links included below.

WMOT prize winning stories: