Liner Notes

WMOT Liner Notes is a place for music lovers to catch up on album releases, live video streams and behind the scenes news. 

Brit Taylor – Real Me

Nov 13, 2020
David McClister

As beautiful art often is, Brit Taylor’s debut album, Real Me was born from a string of losses that left this Eastern Kentucky native longing for the simpler days of her childhood. After moving to Nashville at only 17, she earned a college degree, signed a publishing deal, bought a house in the country, got married and life was on track. Things changed and she found her way out of some dark days through music, faith and family. Brit recently played our Finally Friday From Home series, you can see it under the video tab here at

Nate Brown

On EG Vines’ 2018 debut solo ep, Conversation and his 2019 full length, Family Business there were definitely messages about the state of our world, politics, racial injustice… and with these new releases ahead of his next full length, he’s tackling those subjects head on. EG Vines has a lot to say and he’s not holding back. Today in Liner Notes, we’ll talk about new songs, “Am I Dreaming” and “Them” – that song’s explosive video and the new album, Through the Mirror.

Courtesy of the Artist

This week we dig into Sturgill Simpson’s bluegrass album, a First Nation Gospel album by William Prince, a defiant album by Becky Warren, and Devon Gilfillian’s rendition of Marvin Gaye’s What’s Going On.

Sturgill Simpson surprised everyone last week when he released Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1 – The Butcher Shoppe Sessions, an album of bluegrass reinterpretations of Simpson’s biggest hits. Simpson found inspiration from the music he listened to with his grandfather while growing up in Kentucky.

Sammy Hearn

It’s easy to draw comparisons to Fleetwood Mac with Nashville’s Roanoke, but they’ve been carving out their own slice of American roots rock music over the last several years. The band has grown quite a fan base touring relentlessly and, as most touring bands have done in 2020, had to rethink staying in touch with their fans and getting new music out there. Currently, Roanoke is: Joey Beesley (lead vocals, guitar) and Taylor Dupuis (lead vocals).

Audrey Spillman

Strays Don’t Sleep is an ambient folk collaboration between Matthew Ryan and Neilson Hubbard, A Short Film for A Long Story, out October 30th, is the duo’s first new music in fifteen years. After releasing their self-titled debut in 2005, their individual careers took off in different directions – singer-songwriter Ryan releasing twelve albums over fourteen years while Hubbard was becoming one of Nashville’s most sought after producers. The two have reconvened for a lush, yet minimalist approach to the four songs on this ep.